The To Mieu Temple was constructed by Emperor Minh Mang in 1821 in commemoration of former emperors of the Nguyen Dynasty. This well-preserved landmark is located southwest of the UNESCO protected Complex of Hue Monuments. While travellers are free to explore the temple site, guided tours are available for those looking to know more about the history of Hue.
The To Mieu Temple houses various personal items and portraits of its ten emperors. The main hall is divided into nine rooms while the second features seven rooms, all of which are interconnected. This makes it easy for visitors to navigate their way through the temple grounds.
The To Mieu Temple Highlights
Outside the temple is a large courtyard that’s made with Bat Trang tiles. This ancestral temple is also close to Hien Lam Pavilion, an ornate three-tiered pavilion that’s built in 1822. It’s the tallest building in the temple complex, housing artefacts such as detailed carvings of dragons and a gold wine gourd within its rooms.
You can also find nine dynastic urns located between The To Mieu Temple and Hiem Lam Pavilion. Symbolising the power and stability of the Nguyen Dynasty, each urn is about 2 metres tall and weighs up to 2,600kg. The central urn is the largest of the nine, and was built to commemorate Gia Long, the first emperor of the Nguyen Dynasty.
The To Mieu Temple
- Opening Hours: Daily 07:00 – 17:00
- Location: Le Huan, Thuan Thanh, Hue